2022 Australian Open: Day Two wrap

by Aidan Davis

Some of the Australian Open’s leading contenders have secured passage through the treacherous sectional rounds of the blue-ribbon men’s singles field.

A further 96 sections took to the Gold Coast’s renowned greens today to mark the second day of the $254,000 prize-money competition, with a litany of former winners and finalists among those to advance to the cut-throat knockout stages of the singles discipline, which for the first time, does not feature next-best-qualifiers.

2015 singles champion Aaron Teys, who hoisted the trophy aloft in the inaugural staging of the event on the Gold Coast, was among those who stamped his ticket to the elimination rounds, with an unblemished three victories at Robina, while across town at Burleigh Heads, 2018 victor Ryan Bester did the same.

Last year’s runner-up, Wayne Turley OAM, remains hopeful of securing an elusive maiden trophy, having contested more final matches without a positive result than any other individual, upstaging bright-futured young-gun Tyson Cromie in his opening rubbers at Broadbeach.

Former pairs winners Sean Baker, 2015, Carl Healey, 2018, and defending champion Cody Packer all ensured they would be among those contending at the business end of the singles event, with untarnished records at Helensvale, Broadbeach and Mermaid Beach respectively.

Birmingham-bound Para Jackaroo Damien Delgado easily adjusted back to the Gold Coast’s quick surfaces after helping Australia retain the Trans Tasman’s para trophy earlier in the month.

Recent BPL champion Gary Kelly and fellow BPL ace Chris Rosanes were among those to progress, as was Queensland spearheads Kane Nelson, Nick Cahill and Ryan Burnett.

Former NSW under-18 gold medallist turned Western Australian, Sean Mawdsley survived a jam-packed section at Mudgeeraba, advancing ahead of Emerging Jackaroo Jake Rynne despite falling to him in the opening rubber.

The Australian Open will continue across 11 Gold Coast clubs tomorrow with the final 81 sections of the men’s singles discipline, and the commencement of the event’s second discipline, the women’s pairs.

See the full list of men’s singles sectional winners from day two here.