2021 Australian Open – day seven wrap

by Val Febbo

Eight teams remain in contention in the men’s fours, while a litany of big names progressed to the knockout rounds of the women’s fours after a jam-packed day at the Australian Open on the Gold Coast.

Two of the heavyweight teams in Jayden Christie, Nick Cahill, Barrie Lester and Aron Sherriff, along with the Ray PearseAaron HewsonBen Twist and David Ferguson survived a tricky day’s play and remain in the hunt.

This year’s title was snatched away from two highly-regarded teams of Heath LewisTrentan HealeyChris Herden and Carl Healey, and that of Sean InghamAaron TeysCorey Wedlock and Aaron Wilson, with both star-studded line-ups falling throughout the afternoon.

The Sherriff led squad dropped a measly 16 shots for the entirety of the day, shaping as an ominous force leading into the pointy end of the competition.

Ferguson’s contingent were made to work a little harder, winning their final two encounters by a combined total of three shots.

It was a comfortable 16-7 first-up win before they were pushed to the brink by the ‘international’ raider team of Mike Carroll, Ryan Burnett, Kevin Anderson and Gary Kelly, who forced the match to a 14-13 result.

In the round of 16, the quartet ere pushed to brink, trumping a Cohen Litfin led outfit 16-14 to ensure passage into the quarter-finals.

One of the day’s biggest scalps were claimed by Mark Foley, Craig Richardson, Braided Lease and Gary Pearson against the heavyweight squad of Ingham, Teys, Wedlock and Wilson, 16-6.

Their good fortunes turned in the final round of the day though, to Bradley Lawson, Scott Dejong, John Green and Jamie Anderson.

Healey’s hopes were dashed in the final match of the day, with Peter McCarten, Barry Smith, Chayne Edwards and Josh Zephyr taking a 15-10 victory into the quarter-finals.

The men’s fours action will continue on Wednesday, June 23, with the draw available to view here.

Meanwhile, in the women’s fours sectional encounters, the scintillating teaming of Sarah Boddington, Genevieve Delves, Dawn Hayman and Natasha Van Eldik survived a huge scare to emerge on top of their section.

Following an impressive 28-4 win first up, the quartet would succumb to a red-hot Anne McClure led combination 17-12, before surviving their final encounter 11-10 over Donna Smith, Christine McGuire, Margaret Read and Suzanne Kington to ensure their place in the knockout stage.

The numerous past champion team Samantha Ferguson, Lynsey Clarke, Anne Johns and Kelsey Cottrell suffered a small scare with a 13-13 tie against the Lisa Featherby skipped outfit in the opening match before they breezed home to win their section on shot difference.

Jessica Srisamruaybai, Serena Matthews, Claire Turley and Chloe Stewart survived their own early blemish before claiming top spot in their section, while the squad of Jamie-Lee Worsnop, Brianna Smith, Ellen Ryan and Kristina Krstic produced an unblemished performance, surrendering only 26 shots.

Multi-Emerging Jackaroo team of Cassandra Millerick, Jessie Cottell, Dee-Anne Robertson and Bolivia Millerick also went without defeat, firming as an ominous threat towards the end of the tournament.

Former pairs champion Maria Rigby booked her teams’ passage as a next best qualifier, while former Australian Champion of Champions title winner Colleen Orr narrowly missed out on a place.

The women’s fours action will re-commence on Monday, June 21, with the knockout draw available to view here.

The 2021 Australian Open will be staged across the Gold Coast from June 12-25, courtesy of support from Tourism and Events Queensland and City of Gold Coast.