Ruediger and Thulborn aim for third consecutive Australian Open titles

by admin

South Australian’s Wayne Ruediger and Scott Thulborn are on track to win Australian Open titles in three consecutive years The 2017 Australian Open Men’s Fours trophy will not be heading to South Australia for the first time since the Australian Open moved to the Gold Coast; however one half of the back-to-back Men’s Fours Champions are just one game away from ensuring the Men’s Pairs trophy does! 

Wayne Ruediger and Scott Thulborn will meet Joshua Thornton and Barrie Lester in tomorrow’s final, making this the third consecutive Australian Open final for the Australian Jackaroos. 

Ruediger and Thulborn were too good for Australian Defence Force bowlers Phil Black and Sam Pryor and in the other semi-final Joshua Thornton and Barrie Lester had a slender victory over Geoff Maskell and Lee Schraner. 

It was neck and neck all match with the lead constantly changing, however a few massive ends from Josh Thornton and Barrie Lester secured them a finals berth without needing to play the 18th end of the match. 

World Fours Champion Wayne Ruediger and his South Australian team mate Nathan Pedersen, a player with three Australian Open titles already to his name, are also still in the hunt for the Men’s Singles trophy and the $13,000 that accompanies the silverware. 

The men’s singles semi-finals is scheduled for 11:45am tomorrow at the Broadbeach Bowls Club; however due to a clash with Ruediger qualifying for the Men’s Pairs Final keep a look out for a potential change. 

Ruediger comes up against Australian team mate and the newly crowned Queensland State Singles Champion Nathan Rice; whilst in the other half of the draw, Nathan Pedersen will have his work cut out for him when he takes on 2015 Australian Open Singles Champion Aaron Teys. 

The men’s fours final, which will be professionally live streamed on Bowls Australia’s Facebook page, will be an epic between Scotland’s powerhouse side skipped by the worlds best Alex Marshall, taking on former Australian representative Sean Baker and team. 

Paul Foster, the man Marshall has won majority of his World and Commonwealth Games titles with, along with brothers Ryan and Darren Burnett have been in blistering form in the fours. 

Robbie Wild and Sean Baker will not be overwhelmed by the occasion having won the Australian Open Men’s Pairs here two years ago; likewise their lead Sam Laguzza is a former Australian representative and Jade Groenewege has represented the Northern Territory on a number of occasions. 

Men’s Broadcast Schedule- 

Men’s Singles Final- LIVE on Fox Sports 505 at 1:30pm Friday June 23

Men’s Pairs Final- LIVE on Fox Sports 505 at approximately 1:30pm Thursday June 22

Men’s Fours Final- Professionally Live Streamed (through BA Facebook page) 8:00am Friday June 23