Aron/Aaron keep repeat title hopes alive

by admin

Aron and Aaron edge one step closer to repeating their past heroics in the Australian Open’s blue-ribbon men’s singles discipline. Two past champions have kept their chances of a second Australian Open men’s singles title chances alive after remaining unscathed in this morning’s round of 32 at Paradise Point.

2010 winner Aron Sherriff and 2013 victor Aaron Wilson both edged one step closer to another title bout after recording another win, with Sherriff downing high flying Jackaroo teammate Barrie Lester by a slender shot, while Wilson eliminated Malaysian hopeful Fairul Izwan Abd Muin 21-14.

Wilson’s next opponent is Tweed Head’s Max Jeffray at 1.30pm, while Sherriff will face the winner of Clinton Bailey and Scott De Jongh Fitzpatrick, which commence at 11.00am this morning.

It won’t be a shootout between the namesakes for the the title however, as they will meet in the first semi-final on Thursday, at Broadbeach from 11.45am, should they continue their winning way.

Fellow Australian Jackaroo Wayne Reudiger also stayed safe in the winner’s circle, defeating up-and-coming Cabramatta spearhead Corey Wedlock 21-7, while former great Ian Taylor upstaged South Australian ace Scott Thulborn 21-17, and one-time national representative Lee Schraner knocked off Nelson Bay’s Shannon Dittoes 21-18.

In the other matches staged this morning, Jaffery got the better of New Zealand’s Adam Turner 21-11 to book his encounter against Wilson, while Warilla’s Harley McDonald edged out Gulgong’s Mark Gorrie 21-15.

Play continues at Paradise Point with the remaining men’s singles round of 32 matches at 11.00am and 1.30pm.

The men’s round of 16 starts from 1.30pm and continues at 4.00pm, while the women’s singles round of 16 is split across two sessions at 4.00pm and 6.30pm.