Bowls Australia NTC Squads meet Hong Kong in a friendly series prior to the Australian Open

by admin

NTC Squad members from around the country will converge at Club Helensvale and Paradise Point to compete against a Hong Kong Squad here taking part in the Australian Open National Training Centre Squad members from all over Australia will be heading to the Australian Open hoping to impress selectors and stamp their claims for future Australian teams. 

What better way to practice for the world’s biggest festival of bowls than to play against an international squad; and that is what 19 of Australia’s most promising players will be doing when they face Hong Kong on June 9 to 10. 

The first day’s play will be hosted by Club Helensvale whilst on the second day players will get the chance to practice at another Australian Open host club, Paradise Point. 

Queensland NTC Coach Brett Wilkie has assembled a strong line-up that includes current QLD State representatives Kurt Brown, Kristy Thatcher, Natasha Jones, Sam White, Emma Brown and Scott De Jongh.

With the Australian Open on our doorstep other State and Territory NTC Squad members from ACT, NSW, VIC and NT have taken the opportunity to play in a strong competition leading into the major event and will join forces with the QLD NTC Squad during the two day series. 

Brett Wilkie is thrilled that this annual series is on again knowing how much his squad enjoyed the experience last year.

“Last year’s friendly test series was beneficial for both sides and I’m delighted my squad and other promising players from around the country get another opportunity to taste international competition,” said Wilkie. 

“Playing against international standard players is the best way for my squad to continue to improve their games and last year was a great experience for everyone who participated. 

“QLD NTC was victorious 12 months ago but I know Hong Kong have been getting plenty of opportunities to play on faster greens and will adapt to the Gold Coast greens a lot quicker this year; therefore we need to be up for the competition and take whatever we can away from the experience to best prepare for the Australian Open.” 

Although Brett Wilkie will be participating in the Australian Open, he will have one eye on his squad members hoping they have a successful tournament. 

Here are the teams which have been selected for this event.

Thursday June 9 at Club Helensvale – 9am start

Round 1          

Men’s Pairs: 1. Mitchell Mears & Des Cann  2. Jesse Turnbull & Nic Gosley 
Women’s Pairs: 1. Jessie Cottell & Georgia White 2. Jessica Srisamruaybai & Kristy Thatcher
3. Connie Rixon & Natasha Jones 4. Jessica Hogan & Sarah Boddington       

Round 2          

Men’s Singles: 1. Des Cann 2. Nic Gosley
Men’s Pairs: 1. Mitchell Mears & Jesse Turnbull
Women’s Singles: 1. Kristy Thatcher 2. Sarah Boddington         
Women’s Pairs: 1. Connie Rixon & Colleen Orr
Women’s Fours: 1. Jessica Srisamruaybai, Jessie Cottell, Georgia White, Natasha Jones

Round 3          

Men Fours: 1. Mitchell Mears, Jesse Turnbull, Nic Gosley & Des Cann
Women’s Singles: 1. Georgia White 2. Connie Rixon
Women’s Pairs: 1. Jessica Srisamruaybai & Jessie Cottell
Women’s Fours: 1. Jessica Hogan, Natasha Jones, Colleen Orr & Kristy Thatcher

Friday June 10 at Paradise Point Bowls Club – 9am start

Round 1          

Men’s Pairs: 1. Scott De Jongh & Sam White 2. Cohen Litfin & Kurt Brown 
Women’s Pairs: 1. Emma Brown & Georgia White 2. Tiffany Brodie & Colleen Orr
3. Connie Rixon & Natasha Jones 4. Jessica Hogan & Sarah Boddington       

Round 2          

Men’s Singles: 1. Sam White 2. Kurt Brown 
Men’s Pairs: 1. Scott De Jongh & Cohen Litfin 
Women’s Singles: 1. Colleen Orr 2. Sarah Boddington         
Women’s Pairs: 1. Connie Rixon & Emma Brown
Women’s Fours: 1. Jessica Hogan, Natasha Jones, Tiffany Brodie & Georgia White

Round 3          

Men Fours: 1. Scott De Jongh, Cohen Litfin, Sam White & Kurt Brown
Women’s Singles: 1. Emma Brown 2. Tiffany Brodie
Women’s Pairs: 1. Jessica Hogan & Georgia White
Women’s Fours: 1. Connie Rixon, Natasha Jones, Sarah Boddington & Colleen Orr

Hong Kong Team-

Dorothy Yu
Camilla Leung
Elisa Cheung
Anna Chan
Rita Tsui
Candy Leung
Angel So
Olivia Yu

Jordi Lo
Imen Tang
Martin Sham
Kevin Ho

*Each round will be one test; best of three tests each day to decide a winner.